Poetry Challenge by Steve Richards

image

‘Beach Comber’

I wandered along the beach, alone and despondant, my eyes downcast as I scanned the flotsam and jetsam, the weight of an uncaring world heavy on my shoulders.

I spied something glinting in the bright sunlight and bent down to pick up an old bottle that had been carefully sealed. Inside, protected from the water, was a piece of yellowed paper that I gingerly unfolded and upon which I read,

~~~

Hello and greetings from afar
I know not who it is you are
Nothing of your life or cares
But I have something all can share
Whatever you deem God to be
He loves you just as he loves me
Add your name to the list below
And let’s see how far this will go
Throw me back into the sea
To find another just like thee
Carried by the tides great motion
Hopeful words across the oceans

~~~

The list was long and bore many names, written in different styles, some in faded ink and later ones in modern biro. I added mine to the list and carefully placed the paper back into the bottle, sealing it tight and then throwing it with all my strength out into the water.

I watched it bob and drift, seemingly moving against the tide, until I could see it no longer and turned to walk back along the sand, my steps lighter, my cares lifted, full of hope for a better future, knowing that I am loved.

~~~

© Steve Richards 2013.

*~*~*~*~*

561945_231280663694229_191603711_n

# Steve Richards 

image

line-art-hi

14 thoughts on “Poetry Challenge by Steve Richards

  1. Pingback: Poetry Challenge for Poetry Week… | Words across the Oceans

  2. Pingback: My 2013 Year in Review… | Words across the Oceans

Leave a comment